When to start potty training? What is the right age for potty training?

There is no set age at which potty training or toilet training should begin; the right time depends on your child's development and readiness. But don't worry, there are ways and signs to tell if your child is able and ready to be potty trained.

Potty Training Readiness - 4 Signs of Child Readiness:

  1. physiological development (bladder and bowel control)
  2. motor skills
  3. his/her cognitive and verbal development and
  4. emotional & social awareness.

1. Physiological Development (Bladder and Bowel Control):

In order for your child to be able to eliminate when s/he wants to (voluntary vs. involuntary), her/his sphincter muscles have to be developed / mature enough to delay excretion for a brief period of time. All my research including the American Academy of pediatrics say that children's elimination muscles reach full maturity somewhere between 12-24 months, and the average age of maturity is 18 months.

So how is a parent to know if a child's elimination muscles are mature?

Your child's behavior and actions will guide you in knowing how your child is developing in this area.

Around his/her first birthday, your child will begin to recognize the sensation of a full rectum or bladder, signaling the need to eliminate. You observe this awareness through their behavior of squatting and grunting when having a BM and tugging at the diaper when urinating. At this age, they may not be able to delay elimination, but they need to make the connection between the feeling of fullness and the act of excretion or urination.

On the average, at about 18 months, your child's sphincter muscles mature and now your child has the ability to delay excretion for a brief period of time. Night time bowel control is usually achieved first, followed by day time bowel and bladder control and finally nighttime bladder control. (see potty training at night)

You will notice that your child will no longer have bowel movements at night. Then you will observe that your child can stay dry for a few hours at a time. Your child will wake up dry from long naps, followed by waking up dry in the morning.

Physiological readiness signals for potty training are (Bladder & Bowel Control) :

  • Childs awareness of the need to go - demonstrated by squatting, grunting, hiding when child feels need to eliminate.

  • No BM's through the night

  • Dry diaper for long periods of time i.e. from long naps and/or in the morning.

  • Urinate a lot at one time (vs. a little through out the day)

  • Some regularity of bowel movements.

So, if you think your child has full bladder and bowel control, should you start potty training?

Not necessarily.

Just because a child is physiologically ready to be potty trained does not mean that s/he has the other skills - motor, cognitive & verbal, emotional & social skills required for the whole potty training process.

2. Motor Skills:

On the average, children will walk around the age of 12 months. Once your child has mastered walking and running, then s/he may be interested in acquiring other "grown up" skills and will start developing other gross and fine motor skills required for potty training. The main motor skill is having enough finger & hand coordination skills to dress and undress and more specifically to pull his/her underpants down and up.

Motor Skills readiness signals for potty training are:

  • Is your child able to undress him/herself?

  • Is your child able to pull his/her underpants down?

  • Is your child able to pull his/her pants down?

3. Cognitive and Verbal Skills:

The overall potty training process requires a complex combination of physical and cognitive tasks. Your child has to learn and become familiar with his/her body and functions, associate the physical sensation with the proper response, picture what s/he want to do, create a plan to get to the potty, get there, remove the underwear and then begin to use the potty. Then s/he has to remain there long enough to finish, which requires memory and concentration.

As you teach your child all these steps, your child must have the ability to understand your explanations, commands and responses and to be able to put them all together to understand the entire potty training process.

When you look the process at this detailed a level, you can see why your child has to have some of these cognitive and verbal skills developed to be able to successfully learn what is required.

It starts with body awareness and the ability to associate a feeling of fullness with the result i.e. a BM or urination. This association is not made automatically. You need to reinforce this association by telling your child what is happening based on your observations.

At around the age of 2, children become aware of their body parts and it is your role to teach your child the words for the body parts. Use words that are comfortable to you and your family. This is also your opportunity to teach your child all the other words that will be required in the potty training process.

The next steps in the potty training process require your child to have the capacity for symbolic thought, planning or problem solving and memory. Your child has to be taught that when s/he has the urge to go potty, that they should find their way to the potty, remove their clothing and then eliminate in the potty.

The child has to have the ability for more complex thinking and have the ability to extrapolate and problem solve. They have to be able to learn that they need to stop doing whatever they are doing when they feel that fullness. Then they have to figure out where the potty is and find their way there.

Verbal and Cognitive readiness signals for potty training are:

  • Has the vocabulary required for potty training - i.e. understands words such as pee, poo, penis, vagina, potty, toilet, wet, dry, underwear, "big girl" etc. or whatever words work best for your family

  • Your child can follow instructions - from simple instruction such as show me your nose, to more complex instructions such as putting away toys where they belong. Your child has the ability for symbolic though, planning/problem solving and memory.

  • Is able to imitate and model behavior

4. Emotional Growth and Social Awareness:

This is probably the hardest readiness to gauge, especially since children go through phases. The components that will help in determining your child's emotional and social readiness are self mastery, desire for approval, and social awareness.

The desire to master one's own body and environment is a powerful desire common to all toddlers and preschoolers. You will hear toddlers say "I can do it" and "I am a big boy/girl now" are indications of the desire towards independence.

Sometimes, the need to control one's own body and environment are manifested in undesirable ways such as hiding when s/he has the urge to have a BM, or having an poop accident for the sheer satisfaction of making the decision on where to go potty or withholding stool (aka nonretentive encopresis) and becoming constipated. When your child is in this phase of self mastery, back off and try again later when s/he moved into the more positive phase of self mastery.

Parents often underestimate the power of a child's desire for parental approval. As an adult, think about how you feel about your parents. Do you still care about what they think about you? Do you still want them to be proud of you? Most children have this desire, except for normal spurts of rebellion that occur throughout childhood. This desire to please parent and get parental praise and approval is a great tool that can assist in the process of potty training.

Social awareness is the ability to observe others and the desire to be like them. At the age of 18 months, children become fascinated by the behavior of other children their own age or older. This is why often the 2nd and 3rd child is potty trained a lot earlier than the first child. By the age of 24-30 months, they start to understand gender differences and focus on imitating the behavior of the same sex parent.

Emotional growth and social awareness readiness signals for potty training are:

  • Desire to master one's own body and environment - manifested by "I can do it" or "I am a big boy/girl now"

  • Child's desire for parental approval

  • Child's desire to imitate and desire to be like others

Article Categories

Related Articles

Add Your Comment There are currently 36 comments on this article.
Add yours? >>
Potty? (5/18/2014) Reviewer: Karen (lincoln, ne)

First of all we never used the term 'Potty' it's common and I do mean that in the pejorative. Second, if you're still changing diapers as much after 24 months, it's your fault or the child is delayed. By two, if they're not themselves vocal, they understand the spoken word. Just tell them, 'use the toilet or wear diapers' They choose the toilet every time.

Devan, awful parenting (5/12/2014) Reviewer: Amanda

Devan,

You should be ashamed of yours and your wife's actions, not declaring them on the internet.

As the commenter below shares, you recognize your actions could upset others yet you think nothing of humiliating your young daughter in this way. Horrid.

Devan (11/29/2013) Reviewer: Bee

You should not be parents. I feel sorry for that little girl. I can only imagine how she was made to feel. She was forced and intimidated. I only hope you aren't doing more awful things to the little thing.

You state people won't like it which means perhaps you know deep down you are horrible.

Potty Training (9/26/2013) Reviewer: Jessie (YORK, PA,) One of my nephew aunt has been potty training her daughter since she was one month sitting her on the toilet and holding her there until she goes and bragging about how it saves her two diaper in the night time she three month old now and she finally bought her a potty seat off amazon .com I think she nuts
Potty training tips from a toddler teacher (7/17/2012) Reviewer: Keri (Manxhester , Nh)

I am a toddler teacher of two year old's. Potty training is my thing.

Parents, try to stay away from bribes or snacks. It is a very easy way to train a child but try a potty sticker chart. When potty training a child, it's important to be consistent. Bring the child every thirty min's. Praise them when they go and when they don't go let them know it just wasn't working.

You never want to make potty training a negative experience. It should be a positive and fun adventure for you as a parent and for the child.

Wow. Are you joking?? (6/21/2012) Reviewer: ??

To Devan's post....

Wow. So you "butt swatter" her for not going to the bathroom on the potty and then rewarded her with sugar for doing so.

Hmmmm. Let's fast forward about 16 years. She suddenly has a huge weight problem. She rewards herself with sugar when she feels bad, sad, happy or scared. I wonder where she learned that from? She is uncomfortable with her body as she associates bowel movements and natural things with getting hit.

Congratulations. Super job.

How I potty trained my daughter. (5/28/2012) Reviewer: Devan My daughter was 2 1/2 when my wife and I potty trained out her. My advice may upset some people but I can promise it will work. When we started my daughter would be fine sitting on the toilet but just would not go. She would get up saying she did not have to go, then she would go in her diaper 5 min. later. We let this go on for a few days, then we got tired of it.

This is the part people may not like. We would then put her on the toilet and make her sit there till she went even if she was screaming and crying. If she went in her diaper then she got her butt swatted and put on the toilet. That went on for a day.

When she finally went in the potty we rewarded her with some candy from a jar that she decorated. We allowed her to choose one piece every time she went in the potty. We kept that going for a few weeks than we slowly took the candy out for peeing. After a few more weeks we phased out the candy completely. Since then (she's 4 now) she's had 1 accident while she was sleeping.
I need potty training tips for a girl. (4/30/2012) Reviewer: Rosemarie (Niles, Ohio) I have a little girl who is turning 3 in June. I tried to start potty training a few months ago, half hour in between and each time I have tried we would try for a few days and with no success we stop. Today I have put her in only thick cotton panties with a cute shirt and its the same story. She goes into the bathroom with me and wants to sit on her little potty too. She has also sat on the big potty with her extra small seat adapter and stepping stool. I am a little delayed on the sticker chart but she seems to be ready but just refuses to go in the potty. HELP PLEASE
When to toilet-train your child (2/17/2012) Reviewer: Jake (LaGrange, IL) Most kids are toilet trained anywhere between 2-4 years of age, some may wait until 5 until they're completely sufficient with the toilet. Every child develops at their own pace. Some kids with disabilities like autism or fetal alcohol syndrome never get out of diapers.
Sometimes it just takes longer (2/17/2012) Reviewer: Michael Glynn (Shellsburg, IA) I have a boy who will be 4 on March 1st and he isn't potty trained yet. My wife has tried and stopped several times. He has 4 older siblings and the closest in age is a boy and will be 6 March 24th. After reading several articles I realize he just isn't quite ready yet. His answer to everything is No. I know he'll get there soon. Pushing them never seems to help.
Potty Training (2/14/2012) Reviewer: Tracey My nephew was almost 4 and still in nappies. My sister-in-law tried everything, but he just didn't want to respond to the potty. I suggested to stop putting a nappy on him. He would eventually get tired of feeling wet and uncomfortable in his underwear, and that's how he started on the potty. Because the nappy was always there was like a "safety net", and if it was put on him all the time, he didn't feel the need to use the potty. Hope that's helpful.
To Potty Training and Desperate (2/12/2012) Reviewer: Happy Mom (Austin , TX) I just want to give you words of encouragement. Try not to feel desperate. Your post sounds exactly like what we've been going through right up to this past week. Your little guy will get it. It just basically has to be HIS decision. It'll click with him and he won't look back at pull ups. I say this because we've just (as in this past week and weekend) had success in potty training my 3 1/2 yo (today he turned officially 3 1/2). He had been showing signs of readiness for several months now but pretty much refused to use the potty more than a handful of times in so many months. He has been happy as can be to do all his business in his pull up. He at one point would take off the underwear (during one of our several attempts) and put on a pull up then take it off when he finished and put his undies back on. Well we've just continued to go at it and this past week it all finally clicked for him! What we did was change his pull up right away when we got home from picking him up from MDO into his undies. The rest of the day he'd stay in undies. And this is what I mean about it clicking...he just up and went potty without us asking him or anything!! It was amazing. So after a full week of half days in pull up and the other half in undies and now a full weekend of pull ups I think we've finally done it! This coming week he will be going to his little school in undies. I will of course have him take a change of clothes *just in case* but so far he's had no accidents. Again it's like it clicked and he decided to just go ahead and use the toilet instead of his pull ups. So don't despair, your little one will amaze you because he has been listening and he is ready he just has to decide that he actually wants to go potty.
potty trained early (1/9/2012) Reviewer: j.hilton My mother said I was completely out of diapers at 16 months unless we went on a long car ride and there was no where to stop. I went from diapers to big girl panties, there were no pull ups when I was a kid, either clothe diapers or panties. my son will be 1yr in a week and he is in big boy panties most of the time. we started about 2 months ago as soon as he woke up from a nap he went straight to the potty. and he would pee almost right away. being with the baby sitter during the day, and no play pen she started taking him in the bathroom with her and letting him read a book or play with something interesting in the floor. at 9 months old every time he ent in the bathroom either for someone else to use it or for a bath he would pee. i figured i'd start. and hes doing wonderful. my younger brother was almost 4 when he came out of diapers. i think each child is different and you just have to watch and see when they are ready.
Potty Training And Desperate (1/9/2012) Reviewer: Clair Berry (Bethlehem, PA) Hi I am really struggling with my boy with potty training. He is now 3 1/2 and loves his pull up. He goes to day care from 9 till 2 and won't ask the teacher to use the bathroom. He is happy to also pee and poop in his pull up anywhere and knows how to pull his pants down and knows the sensations and know what to do. I am getting a lot of pressure from his day care and not sure now what to do. Tried rewards and researched until I am blue in the face. Every method has been tried it feels like. Any help anyone?
I'm worn out and desperate!! (10/12/2011) Reviewer: Crystal (Paulina, LA) I have a 2 1/2 yr old girl who at one time showed interest in using the potty. She has 2 older siblings, one of which is a girl who is 8, and she loves to immitate her (the other is a boy who is 11 so she can't go watch at potty time). One day my oldest girl went to the bathroom and so my 2 yr old wanted to go also and she watched and then she wanted to use it and she did pee. She was excited and she ended up using it that day. Now all of a sudden she does not want anything to do with the potty. The other 2 yr olds at the sitter goes to the potty daily and gets stickers and treats and she sees that and wants one too but doesn't get any b/c she doesn't pee on the potty she only sits. I have let her run around with panties but she wets them. Now I find she is holding herself until she goes to sleep and does it in her sleep (either at naptime or at nighttime). I think she is very scared of using the potty (I bought a small potty for her thinking that it may help on a potty her size). I had her sit on the potty and we sang and all and when it was time for her to pee she screamed and asked to put her diaper on. She was literally screaming and crying and that's when I knew she had to pee b/c she asked for her diaper. I have just ordered some cloth training pants w/vinyl shell to start using that. I think she needs to feel herself get wet more often b/c she DOES know when she has to use it for she usually tells me right after she has done it. PLEASE HELP, I don't know what else to do.
How long do you want to potty train for? (10/11/2011) Reviewer: Trina Morgan (Chesteremere, alberta) I've been a Childcare provider for nine years now and as I read though everyone's comments many things pop out at me about why people are having a hard time potty training their kids. I personally think three years old is a magic age to start potty training. Potty training doesn't need to be a long grueling process when kids are ready. If you start too soon, it will take months. If you wait until they are a bit older and ready it should only take a week or two. Everyone is in a hurry to get this done but when they start too soon it almost always back fires. I understand the need to get out of diapers asap however the work and time that goes into potty training is not fun for anyone if it's taking months when if the child is ready will only take weeks and is much more fun and rewarding for everyone ( especially the child) Good luck and try not to be to pushy or in a hurry.
3 year old (8/31/2011) Reviewer: nicoel (colorado springs, co) My son turned 3 this past July and still isn't potty trained. He's not even close. Any time he has something on his bottom he thinks its a diaper and can go to the bathroom in it. So when I do train I have to leave him naked from the waist down. He doesn't let me know when he needs to go, and he refuses to go #2 in the toilet. He holds it until he gets a diaper back on. Even when I see him making his poopy face and take his diaper off to put him on the toilet, he doesn't go! He just stops and waits for the diaper again. I have a 4 month old daughter so that makes it even more difficult to keep track of my son. Anything to try and help would be awesome.
Potty Training Frustrations (7/22/2011) Reviewer: Amanda Spangler (Pittsburgh, PA) My daughter just turned 2 but has been using the potty for fun since she was 15mos old. Usually first thing in the morning, before baths, after naps, and before bedtime. She has seemed ready for a while but I waited because of the birth of our second daughter in May. I put her in big girl underwear this morning, she did very well for the first couple hours and then totally lost it. She became defiant about the potty and started telling me "no" when I would ask her to try. I have done reward all day when she goes on the potty and for dry panties. I don't know what to do, because she was taking her diaper off all the time and going on the potty, which is why I wanted to go ahead and potty train. Now she all of a sudden doesn't want to do it. Help! She normally is quite a strong willed child.
Is my son ready? (6/29/2011) Reviewer: Nikie (Gainesville, GA) My son will be 18 months in a couple of weeks and for over 2 months now he has been showing signs of understanding/curiosity about the potty. He will point to his diaper and tell us he needs a new one, he also pulls at his wet diapers and grunts and squats to poop as well as always wanting to know about the toilet. I talked to the director of his daycare and she was adamant that I not potty train him yet, while my mother and mother-in-law are both urging me to do it. I don't want to push him too fast, but I'm afraid to put it off for fear that he'll lose interest or something. Help and suggestions are greatly appreciated! Potty Training Concepts: He is showing signs that he is ready to be potty trained. Some toddlers learn faster than others. I would wait a couple of months and then start the process.
help me (6/12/2011) Reviewer: valentine (rochester, ny) I have a two year old son who I have started to potty train and it has its ups and downs he will stand at the potty and do nothing but wipe his butt as if he has done something. He is in pull ups and takes them off after he pees. I dont know what to do

Potty Training Concepts:

My suggestion is to get him some training pants instead of pull ups so he can know when he does have an accident. Start with practice runs and taking him to the potty often and step back a little bit and he will begin to tell you. If he has an accident, let him help you clean it up or put the poop in the potty to make sure he knows that poop goes in the potty.

 

help me please (6/1/2011) Reviewer: Vas Perrella (Perth, WA) my little girl is nearly 2 1/2 yrs old. We started toilet training nearly 2 months ago and it seemed to be going well with her sometimes telling us she needs to go and with us prompting her to go ( there were still some accidents and no poos are on the toilet) she has now stopped telling us she needs to go and only going when we ask her to. She will sometimes wee when we make her go and other times refuse saying she will go later only to have an accidents within the next few minutes. The amount of accidents have now increased and the success on the toilet has decreased. There has been no changes for her or at home. I have put a nappy back on which she initially didn't want but once it's on she just does everything in the nappy and then the next morning asks for nickers again and the process starts again. I am concerned we wont be trained by the time she turns 3yrs old. Potty Training Concepts: She has simply regressed. She just might need a little motivation. Every time she does go to the potty give her a reward or track her progress with potty charts and stickers. Once you guys have taken her on a couple of practice for about a week or two, step back, don't ask her if she has to go potty just let her ask you.
almost 3 and not potty trained (5/23/2011) Reviewer: Michelle (Pembroke Pines, Fl) My son will be three in 2 weeks and still doesn't go on the potty. He'll tell me when he goes number 2 but won't go on the potty. With number 1 he never tells me when he goes. His diaper is usually dry when he wakes up in the morning and after a nap. Also, before he takes a bath I try to get him to go in the potty but he will always wait until he gets in the tub to go number 1. I really need him to go on the potty before the new school year but don't know what else to do. Potty Training Concepts: Just simply know his potty schedule. Just take one weekend to do some practice runs with him taking him to the potty every 3-4 hours. Once you start doing practice runs for about 1-2 weeks, step back and he will let you know that he has to go. He might just need a little motivation. By using potty training charts and stickers, he can track his success, and get a very nice reward when he goes potty on the potty.
I agree, don't start too early. (4/29/2011) Reviewer: Susan I started to train my first son around 23 months and he was potty trained by 2 1/2 yrs. I started to potty train my middle son at 17 months and we are still potty training. He will be 3 next month. He will use the potty, but only when I tell him to.
still not trained at 3 years old (4/27/2011) Reviewer: Kate (Dubai, UAE) Hi, my third child has just turned 3 and is weeing on the potty when he has no underpants on. But as soon as he is dressed he assumes he can wee as if he has a nappy on, despite being constantly asked. He will not attempt any poo's on the potty and insists a nappy is put on for this. I am not making a big deal out of this but need him to be trained for school in September. My other two were trained by 2 and half. Thanks

Potty Training Concepts Response:

I would suggest to get him some Cotton Padded Training Pants or 2 in 1 Waterproof Training Pants, so he can feel when he is wet and won't mess up is clothes. My suggestion is to have some practice runs with him with his clothes because he might not want to undress himself when he goes to the potty. He will eventually start going to potty on his own once you start doing some practice runs with him.

toddler IBS and potty training (4/20/2011) Reviewer: amy I'm hoping to potty train my son sooner rather than later, He is very smart but stubborn and he suffers from toddler diarrhea syndrome (like irritable bowel) and he should out-grow this by age 4 He's 20 months now and because his stools are soft its rare that he makes any "grunts" when having a BM,but he does pull his nappy (I didn't realize this was a sign) and he had is nappy off the other day, peed, I went "oh no!!" And he managed to stop mid-flow, run about two foot and pee again! So I'm guessing this means he has bladder control especially because before this he'd have just stood there and finished! Any ideas especially with the poop issue?? X
Potty training in 3 days (4/19/2011) Reviewer: Talitha (Port Elizabeth, EC) I have come across a website - www.3daypottytraining.com - which guides you in potty training your child in just 3 days! At first I was very skeptical, but tried it with my 24 month / 2year old son. Well, at the end of the 3 days he was / is now fully potty trained for both day and night. He even wakes me up in the middle of the night IF it sometimes happen that he needs to use the potty during night / sleep time. That is amazing, taking that just a week before I tried this potty training method, I sometimes had to change his nappy up to 3 x times during the night. Since his potty training, he only had one accident during the night. It does take a lot of time, dedication, effort and consistency on you as parent's part, but it is definitely worth while. My son is so proud every time he uses the potty and after the 3 days, he did not once during the day had an accident. He always goes in time. They suggests that the most effective age for a toddler to start potty training is at 22 months, but of cause every child is different and you as parent knows your child best and when he / she is ready.
wait until your house is quiet and your child is relaxed (4/17/2011) Reviewer: sophie-maria I have started a very relaxed way of potty training my little boy. He is 2 now and there seems to be times when he does understand fully what he needs to do to go to the potty, but other times he seems like he doesn't understand, although he does ask for the potty all the time, even when he doesn't need to go. I find that he is more likely to do something on the potty if we are really relaxed and laid back with him, and there isn't too much going on in the house. Loads of praise helps too, because he will actually look in the potty and smile when he realizes that he has done something. He isn't fully potty trained yet, and is currently in pull-ups, but he is definitely getting there. I won't force him to potty train because I know that he will do it in his own time.
Waiting to0 long (4/12/2011) Reviewer: MAS I'm a new mom of an 18 month old boy and we are going to try potty training when we return from a trip next month. I've worked in day cares, I've trained other children and I'm in a mom's group. It seems to be growing trend that children are being potty-trained later and later. Many children I know are still wearing diapers way past 2 or even 3 years old, which seems kind of ridiculous to me. Unless there is a real problem, which can happen, it seems that parents are too afraid to push their kids to potty. I've never trained my own child and I will attempt this soon, but I don't think it's totally up to the child to decide. If children are showing readiness like my son is (squatting to poop and saying "poo", tugging at diapers when he pees, interested in the potty) then I think I have to at least give it my best to have him potty trained soon.
Question to Jasmine (3/31/2011) Reviewer: Ansa (Germantown, MD) Hello Jasmine, I too run a daycare and currently there is a child in my care who is very ready by all the points in this article, he very smart. The first of the year I introduced the solar system and map of the U.S. and he grasped the material right away. But when it comes to this potty training thing he does not go unless he is taking by an adult. and even then he sits longer than any other kid. After he sits there with sometimes no results he will often times get up and within minutes use the bathroom in his clothes. We have spoken to the parent a couple of times receiving very little support from them. After asking the parent what is being done at home we received very little information to help us imatate at preschool. What would be the suggestion for a parent and child that seems just lazy when it comes to potty training.
Don't start to early!! (2/18/2011) Reviewer: CMO I have ran a daycare for many years and I can tell you the biggest mistake parents make is training to early. Parents that push their children to train at age one, are the ones that are still training a four year old. I have NEVER had a child over 3 that was not trained in their own time...unless they were pushed into it. I have had kids that just woke up one day and decided they didn't need diapers anymore. I have also had kids that took near a month to consistently go. Then there are the kids that were pushed into it to early that took months or even years to train.
Is he ready (2/16/2011) Reviewer: Jasmine (Duncanville, TX) My son just turned one a month ago but before his birthday we noticed he would take his pamper off if he was wet, and I also notice that it seemed like he was starring at his pamper like he was trying to figure out what was going on in there .So we bought a potty sometimes he will go sometimes he won't but he really does not like poo what should I do to help him with that?
Age 2 1/2 (12/9/2010) Reviewer: Whitney Lawson My son will be 3 in march we have been training for awhile, he will use the potty to urinate all day long he's even going by himself without even telling me which is great but he will not poo in the potty should i be concerned or give him more time? He is holding it all day until night when I put a pull up on him... My parents say to slack off and give him time... Just wondering if anyone had any thoughts?
potty training (1/27/2010) Reviewer: S Beeghly (Alexandria, VA) I'm a grandma and 2 of my 3 were out of diapers by 20 months and the 3rd by age 2. My granddaughter is 19 months and has been "in training" a week and is in underpants all day. The last 2 days she has had only 1 wet pants a day. With mine and my daughter's child, we noticed when they were noticing something was happening. This indicated it was time to start. So the diapers came off and the pants on (no long pants, just shirt and underpants). Within a few days they were telling when they had to go. Parents also keeps track of time and puts them on every hour if they haven't signaled or wet already. So it is a combination of kiddo telling you and of parent watching signals and watching the time. True independence was at about 2 1/2 (although still needing help with wiping then), But very few diapers needed after the 18-20 months, except at night. Just accept there will be occasional accidents.
potty training my son (12/13/2009) Reviewer: Taryn (Augusta, IL) My son is 10 months old. We occasionally put him on the toilet to show him what it is like to use it. If he pees fine if not that's fine too. Most of the time he does. Should I continue doing it?
initate bed wetting.. (8/23/2009) Reviewer: Judy Musarra (orange, ca) does too early even tho signs of verbal and wanting to use the potty is there..age: 19 months
potty training (8/17/2009) Reviewer: jennifer (Beckley, WV) I understand that she has to be ready and so do I. We are past that and she does not go to bed with a cup. She will go to the potty in the day and stuff but I have to remind her and take her or she will pee in her underwear. we do reward charts with stickers and she does fairly good but with this being said would u say she ready?